A-Reece Biography & Facts

A-Reece Biography & Facts

Meet Lehlogonolo Ronald Mataboge, better known as A-Reece, the talented rapper, songwriter, and record producer hailing from Pretoria, Gauteng. With his infectious beats and powerful lyrics, A-Reece has captured the hearts of fans across South Africa and beyond.


Birth name Lehlogonolo Ronald Mataboge
Also known as
  • The boy doing things
  • Baby Boy
  • Young King
  • The Big Hearted Bad Guy
Born 27 March 1997 (age 27)
Danville, Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Origin Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
  • Hip Hop
  • Rap
  • Rapper
  • record producer
  • songwriter
Years active 2013–present
  • Ambitiouz Entertainment (former)
  • The Wrecking Crew (former)
  • amatsha (current)
Website babyboy1606.com

Born on March 27, 1997, in Danville, Pretoria, A-Reece was destined for greatness from a young age. Inspired by his older brother, he began writing music in primary school and adopted the stage name “A-Reece” from his star sign, Aries.

Rise to Fame

In 2014, A-Reece made his mark on the music scene with the release of his EP, “Browniez EP.” The following year, he caught the attention of Ambitiouz Entertainment and signed with the label. His breakout single, “Couldn’t,” featuring Emtee, catapulted him to stardom in 2015, laying the foundation for his solo career.

A-Reece’s debut studio album, “Paradise,” dropped in 2016, topping the iTunes charts within 24 hours of its release. Despite leaving Ambitiouz Entertainment due to disputes, A-Reece continued to shine as an independent artist, releasing hit singles like “Feelings” and EPs like “Cutaways.”

In 2017, A-Reece formed The Wrecking Crew (TWC), a collective of talented artists including MashBeatz, FLVME, and B3nchMarQ. Together, they brought a fresh sound to the South African rap scene, captivating audiences with their unique style and energy.

A-Reece’s musical journey has been marked by evolution and innovation. From his early days with Ambitiouz Entertainment to his independent ventures and collaborations, he continues to push boundaries and redefine the genre.

In 2021, A-Reece signed a distribution deal with Platoon, propelling his mixtape “Today’s Tragedy, Tomorrow’s Memory: the mixtape” into the spotlight. His third studio album, “P2: THE BIG HEARTED BAD GUY,” debuted at number one in South Africa, cementing his status as a rap heavyweight.


  1. “Paradise” (2016):
    • A-Reece’s debut studio album, released on October 21, 2016.
    • Features hit singles like “Couldn’t” and “Mgani.”
    • Received critical acclaim and topped the iTunes charts within 24 hours of its release.
  2. “From Me to You & Only You” (2017):
    • A-Reece’s second studio album, released on October 21, 2017.
    • Includes tracks like “Feelings” featuring FLVME.
    • Further solidified his reputation as a rising star in the South African rap scene.
  3. “Long Lost Letters” (L3) with Ecco the Beast and Wordz (2018):
    • A collaborative album released in 2018.
    • Lead single is “Welcome To My Life.”
    • Showcases A-Reece’s versatility and collaborative spirit.
  4. “And I’m Only 21” (2018):
    • A 5th extended play (EP) released in October 2018.
    • Features a mix of solo tracks and collaborations.
    • Highlights A-Reece’s growth and maturity as an artist.
  5. “Reece Effect” (2019):
    • A project released in 2019.
    • Further explores A-Reece’s lyrical prowess and musical style.
  6. “Today’s Tragedy, Tomorrow’s Memory: the mixtape” (2021):
    • A mixtape released in 2021.
    • Showcases A-Reece’s continued evolution as an artist.
    • Publicized on Forbes, Clash, and Flaunt magazines.
  7. “P2: THE BIG HEARTED BAD GUY” (2023):
    • A-Reece’s third studio album, released in 2023.
    • Debuted at number one in South Africa.
    • Demonstrates A-Reece’s growth and maturity as an artist.

These albums and mixtapes represent A-Reece’s journey as a rapper, songwriter, and record producer,


Here are some notable tracks from his career:

  1. “Couldn’t”:
    • A breakout single featuring Emtee, released in 2015.
    • Helped A-Reece gain popularity and recognition in the music industry.
  2. “Mgani”:
    • Featured on A-Reece’s debut studio album “Paradise” (2016).
    • Showcases his introspective lyrics and smooth flow.
  3. “Feelings”:
    • Collaboration with FLVME, included in the album “From Me to You & Only You” (2017).
    • Highlights A-Reece’s ability to capture emotions through his music.
  4. “Meanwhile in Honeydew”:
    • Single released in 2017.
    • Reflects A-Reece’s storytelling abilities and creative vision.
  5. “Welcome To My Life”:
    • Lead single from the collaborative album “Long Lost Letters” (L3) with Ecco the Beast and Wordz (2018).
    • Addresses personal struggles and challenges in the music industry.
  6. “Saucy”:
    • Featured on the mixtape “Today’s Tragedy, Tomorrow’s Memory: the mixtape” (2021).
    • Displays A-Reece’s confidence and swagger over a catchy beat.
  7. “The 5 Year Plan”:
    • Track from the album “P2: THE BIG HEARTED BAD GUY” (2023).
    • Reflects on A-Reece’s journey and ambitions in the music industry.
  8. “Selfish (EXP 2)”:
    • Released as part of the extended play “Reece Effect” (2019).
    • Explores themes of self-reflection and growth.
  9. “Morning Peace”:
    • Collaboration with Jay Jody from the hip hop duo B3nchMarQ.
    • Showcases A-Reece’s versatility and ability to collaborate with other artists.
  10. “Pluto”:
    • Featured on the mixtape “Today’s Tragedy, Tomorrow’s Memory: the mixtape” (2021).
    • Highlights A-Reece’s introspective lyrics and melodic flow.


Lehlogonolo Ronald Mataboge, aka A-Reece, is more than just a rapper – he’s a visionary artist with a passion for pushing the boundaries of music. From his humble beginnings in Pretoria to his meteoric rise to fame, A-Reece continues to inspire fans with his raw talent, authenticity, and unwavering dedication to his craft. As he continues to evolve and carve out his place in the music industry, one thing is certain: A-Reece is a name that will be synonymous with greatness for years to come.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.