Kabza De Small – Biography & Facts

Kabza De Small - Biography & Facts

Kabza De Small, born Kabelo Motha, is a vibrant South African DJ and music producer renowned as the “King of Amapiano.” Amapiano, a captivating subgenre of house music, blends airy synth pads, lively piano tunes, and mellow rhythms infused with elements of jazz, lounge, and deep house. His stellar 2019 album “Scorpion Kings,” a collaborative masterpiece with DJ Maphorisa, stands as a cornerstone in popularizing this genre.

Kabza de Small

Full Name: Kabelo Motha
Stage Name: Kabza De Small
Born: 27 November 1992 (age 31 years old)
Place of Birth: Mpumalanga, South Africa
Nationality: South African
Parents: N/A
Children: N/A
Height: N/A
Siblings: N/A
Girlfriend • Wife: Not Disclosed
Occupation: DJ • Record Producer
Net Worth: $400,000

Originally from Mpumalanga but now calling Pretoria home, Motha embarked on his DJ journey in 2009, fusing EDM with Afrobeat-infused house sounds. Transitioning towards the groundbreaking amapiano genre, he dropped his impressive debut album “Avenue Sounds” in 2016 via House Afrika Records. His breakthrough came with hits like “Amabele Shaya” and “Umshove,” featuring the talented Leehleza. The infectious energy of “Bamba La,” another collab with Leehleza, captured hearts in early 2019, setting the stage for the chart-topping success of “Scorpion Kings” alongside DJ Maphorisa.

Motha and DJ Maphorisa wasted no time in seizing the momentum, unleashing the enthralling “Piano Hub” in October. Not content with just one hit, Motha followed up with his sophomore album “Pretty Girls Love Amapiano” the same month. Their partnership bore more fruit with “The Return of Scorpion Kings” in November, showcasing their relentless creativity.

Even the COVID-19 lockdown couldn’t stifle Motha’s musical fervor, as he dropped the EP “Pretty Girls Love Amapiano” in April 2020, keeping the beats alive and spirits high.


Studio albums

  • Avenue Sound (2016)
  • Pretty Girls Love Amapiano (2019)
  • Pretty Girls Love Amapiano 2 (2020)
  • I Am the King of Amapiano: Sweet & Dust (2020)
  • KOA II Part 1 (2022)
  • Rekere (2023)

Collaborative albums

  • Scorpion Kings EP (with DJ Maphorisa) (2019)
  • Piano Hub EP (with DJ Maphorisa) (2019)
  • The Return of the Scorpion Kings (with DJ Maphorisa) (2019)
  • Scorpion Kings Live At Sun Arena (with DJ Maphorisa) (2020)
  • Once Upon A Time In A Lockdown (with DJ Maphorisa) (2020)
  • Petle Petle EP (with DJ Maphorisa & King Deetoy) (2021)
  • Rumble in the Jungle (with DJ Maphorisa & TRESOR) (2021)
  • Pretty Girls Love Amapiano 3 (with Mdu aka Trp) (2021)
  • Scorpion Kings Live Sun Arena (with DJ Maphorisa) (2022)
  • Speak N Vrostaan (with Kwesta) (2022)
  • The Konka Mixtape : Sweet & Dust (with DJ Maphorisa) (2023)


  • Ziwangale EP (2022)
  • Isimo EP (2023)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.