aKING Biography & Facts

aKING Biography & Facts

Let’s dive into the world of aKING, a super awesome melodic rock band from South Africa based in Bellville, a suburb of Cape Town. The band was formed back in November 2007 by Hunter Kennedy and Jaco ‘Snakehead’ Venter, who were already part of the well-known Bellville-based band Fokofpolisiekar. They teamed up with Laudo Liebenberg on vocals and guitar, and Hennie van Halen on bass, and together they created magic.


Origin Cape Town, South Africa
Genres Rock
Years active 2007–present
  • Laudo Liebenberg
  • Andrew Davenport
  • Hennie van Halen
  • Jaco Venter
Past members
  • Hunter Kennedy
Website aking.co.za

In 2008, aKING released their debut studio album, “Dutch Courage,” followed by their second album, “Against All Odds,” in early 2009. They’ve been rocking stages all over South Africa, performing at major festivals like Oppikoppi Music Festival and Coke Zero Fest. In fact, in 2009, they even shared the stage with international acts like Oasis, Snow Patrol, and Panic! at the Disco! How cool is that?

These guys have also been making waves on South African radio, getting their music played on big stations like 5fm, Kfm, and campus radio stations all over the country. They even flew all the way to Argentina to shoot the music video for their single, “You and I.”

aKING isn’t just about making music, though. They’re all about collaborating with other awesome artists and spreading good vibes. They’ve worked on projects like “In The Twilight” with Cape Town-based production company Ghetto Vibrations and other talented musicians.

In 2010, the band went through a little change when Andrew Davenport joined as a guitarist, replacing Hunter Kennedy. But that didn’t slow them down one bit. In fact, they released their third studio album, “The Red Blooded Years,” in March 2011, showing the world that they’re here to stay.


  • Dutch Courage (LP, 2008)
  • In The Twilight (EP, 2009)
  • Against All Odds (LP, 2009)
  • The Red Blooded Years (LP, 2011)
  • Morning After (LP, 2014)

Band members

Current members

  • Laudo Liebenberg – vocals, rhythm guitar (2007–present)
  • Hennie van Halen – bass guitar (2007–present)
  • Jaco “Snakehead” Venter – drums (2007–present)
  • Andrew Davenport – guitar (2010–present)

Former members

  • Hunter Kennedy – guitar, vocals

You might even recognize aKING from their appearance on the SABC 2 soap opera “7de Laan” in early October 2015. These guys are everywhere, spreading their awesome music and vibes wherever they go. Keep your ears open for aKING because they’re bound to keep rocking our world with their melodic tunes!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.